Personalizing persuasive technologies can increase their efficacy at motivating the desired behavior change. Building on the success of the 2016 workshop which witnessed 16 paper presentations, 2 keynote presentations, and 43 participants from over 10 different countries, this year’s workshop aims to advance the research area even further by addressing outstanding challenges and opportunities identified during the previous workshop. The workshop aims to connect a diverse group of researchers and practitioners interested in personalizing and tailoring persuasive technologies to share their experiences, ideas, discuss key challenges facing the area, and how to move the field forward. The workshop will cover broad areas of personalization and tailoring, including but not limited to personalization models, design and evaluation methods, and personalized persuasive technologies. We welcome submissions and ideas from any domain of persuasive technology and HCI including, but not limited to health, sustainability, games, safety and security, marketing, eCommerce, entertainment, and education. Workshop papers and ideas will be archived online to be accessible to the general public.

The workshop will consist of a keynote speaker, presentations of accepted papers, small group interaction, and a closing plenary discussion.

The workshop will be held in conjunction with Persuasive Technology 2017, the 12th International Conference on Persuasive Technologies.

Important Dates

  • Feb 10, 2017Feb 18, 2017: Submissions deadline
  • Feb 28, 2017: Acceptance notification
  • March 6, 2017: Camera-ready version due
  • April 4, 2017: Workshop

Position Papers

Participants are invited to submit:

  • position papers(2–4 pages)
  • work-in-progress papers(2–6 pages)
  • full research papers(6-12 pages)

Page limits exclude bibliography. The submissions have to be formatted according to the Springer LNCS format. Submissions do not need to be blinded.

Please send your submissions to

Workshop Organizers

Rita Orji, University of Waterloo, Canada
Marc Busch, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Maurits Kaptein, University of Tilburg, Netherlands
Arie Dijkstra, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Michaela Reisinger, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Mattheiss Elke, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria